An ATN University celebrates world-first as Deakin opens campus in India

16 March 2023

Media Release – World-first for an ATN University with Deakin to open campus in India 09032023


The Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) is immensely proud of the world-first achievement by member Deakin University, with confirmation today it has been given in-principle approval to become the first foreign Higher Education institution to open a campus in India.

Deakin University will become the first foreign tertiary institution to establish a branch, when it opens the doors on the GIFT City Campus, in the western state of Gujarat.

“This is a moment to be celebrated by us all, a glowing endorsement of the long commitment of ATN universities in India and the quality education delivered by Deakin, 20 years since first opening an office there,” said ATN Executive Director, Luke Sheehy.

“Nothing speaks more positively of Deakin’s success in building this key relationship than Prime Minister Anthony Albanese heralding this terrific milestone with one of our most important partners and making it a cornerstone announcement of his trip to India, this is an exceptional day for Australia.”

The announcement of the GIFT City Campus is the latest in a fortnight of achievements by ATN universities in India including a first-of-its-kind agreement between RMIT and the Birla Institute of Technology and Science (Pilani) and UniSA building on the success of The Innovation Academy with Accenture.

“These past two weeks have provided even more proof that many years of hard work and collaboration are paying handsome dividends for our world-class universities. This is a testament to their commitment to equity and excellence.”

Media Contact (not for publication)
Frank Coletta (Manager, Media and Communications) m: 0468 987 295 e: The Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) was established in 1999 and brings together Australia’s six real world universities focused on enterprise, impact and finding solutions to issues facing our rapidly changing economy and society. Our member universities are Curtin University, Deakin University, RMIT University, The University of Newcastle, University of South Australia, and University of Technology Sydney. Our universities produce Australia’s most job-ready graduates and undertake world-class research with real-world impact. Through our innovation we are proud disruptors challenging the status quo. ATN universities provide world-class education to almost 310,000 students and teach 20 per cent of domestic higher education students and 19 per cent of international students. We are the fastest-growing university grouping in terms of domestic students. Together, we are proud of who we include, not exclude, with a strong commitment to equity, excellence, and social justice. ATN is one of Australia’s leading university peak bodies with a track record of advocating and shaping positive policy outcomes with all levels of government.