ATN Universities builds on foundational ties to India with Minister Jason Clare

27 February 2023

Media Release – ATN Universities joins Ministerial Higher Education delegation to India – 28 February 2023


Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) Executive Director, Luke Sheehy, has joined Education Minister, Jason Clare, on a Higher Education delegation to India.

The Minister, Mr Sheehy and other members of a high-level tertiary education group are seeking to build on the extensive foundational ties with the emerging economic powerhouse. The five-day visit will include meetings with key Indian Government officials and education sector business leaders.

“I echo the importance Minister Clare has placed on the growing relationship between Australia and India, and this delegation will help solidify the already deep affinity we share,” Mr Sheehy said.

“There is an enduring genuine affection with India, along with great partnerships which have been signed in economic agreements, and education has always taken a leading role.”

India is one of the fastest recovering markets for international students at ATN universities. The rebound was clearly visible in Semester One, 2022 with a 275 per cent increase on Semester Two the previous year.

ATN universities have long been the number one destination for Indian students. At its peak in 2019 ATN universities had almost 14,000 students from India, representing 16 per cent of all Indian students in Australia.

“ATN universities have been in India for more than 20 years when Deakin University first established ties there and this is a great opportunity to demonstrate to the new minister the long-term commitment of our universities to India.”

Media Contact (not for publication)
Frank Coletta (Manager, Media and Communications) m: 0468 987 295 e:
The Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) was established in 1999 and brings together Australia’s six real world universities focused on enterprise, impact and finding solutions to issues facing our rapidly changing economy and society. Our member universities are Curtin University, Deakin University, RMIT University, The University of Newcastle, University of South Australia, and University of Technology Sydney. Our universities produce Australia’s most job-ready graduates and undertake world-class research with real-world impact. Through our innovation we are proud disruptors challenging the status quo. ATN universities provide world-class education to almost 310,000 students and teach 20 per cent of domestic higher education students and 19 per cent of international students. We are the fastest-growing university grouping in terms of domestic students. Together, we are proud of who we include, not exclude, with a strong commitment to equity, excellence, and social justice. ATN is one of Australia’s leading university peak bodies with a track record of advocating and shaping positive policy outcomes with all levels of government.