ATN Universities welcomes Australian Government changes to post-study work rights

28 February 2023

Media Release – ATN Universities welcomes Fed Govt changes to post study work rights


Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) is pleased that the Federal Government has agreed to increase working caps and post-study work rights for international students.

ATN Executive Director, Luke Sheehy, said ATN had consistently advocated for an effective system which combines part-time work with studying, post-study work rights and permanent migration.

“ATN has been working with industry groups like the Tech Council to address skills shortages and suggest ways to alleviate barriers for employers and skilled migrants and simplify the process,” Mr Sheehy said.

“I’m proud to say that we have been great supporters and advocators of the need to return to a capped arrangement for work hours for international students living in Australia and that moving to 24 hours per week will provide students with the opportunity to earn adequate income while continuing to actively engage in their studies, as well as campus life.

“It strikes the right balance, ensuring Australian universities can continue to offer their world-class education while retaining a competitive advantage over other countries.”

Mr Sheehy added that the creation of effective, tangible and realistic pathways from student visa, to graduate visa and then to permanent resident visa will help attract, build and retain talent and meet Australia’s future skills needs.

“I applaud Education Minister Jason Clare and the Albanese Government on firstly, seeking advice on the issue, and implementing the changes,” he said. “This is why ATN joined with Ai Group last year to call on the Government to form a three-way partnership with universities and industry to deliver better skills outcomes for industry, students and the economy.”

Media Contact (not for publication)
Frank Coletta (Manager, Media and Communications) m: 0468 987 295 e:
The Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) was established in 1999 and brings together Australia’s six real world universities focused on enterprise, impact and finding solutions to issues facing our rapidly changing economy and society. Our member universities are Curtin University, Deakin University, RMIT University, The University of Newcastle, University of South Australia, and University of Technology Sydney. Our universities produce Australia’s most job-ready graduates and undertake world-class research with real-world impact. Through our innovation we are proud disruptors challenging the status quo. ATN universities provide world-class education to almost 310,000 students and teach 20 per cent of domestic higher education students and 19 per cent of international students. We are the fastest-growing university grouping in terms of domestic students. Together, we are proud of who we include, not exclude, with a strong commitment to equity, excellence, and social justice. ATN is one of Australia’s leading university peak bodies with a track record of advocating and shaping positive policy outcomes with all levels of government.