ATN welcomes Turnbull Government’s commitment to science and research

22 March 2017

The Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) welcomes the Federal Government’s long-term commitment to Australian science and research as outlined in the National Science Statement.

Released today by the Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science, Senator Arthur Sinodinos identifies science as critical to Australia’s ability to deliver new sources of growth, maintain high-wage jobs and achieve future economic prosperity.

ATN Executive Director Renee Hindmarsh says the release of the statement is an important step in guiding the long term direction for science and research in Australia by highlighting the necessity of partnerships between research and industry in innovating for the future of the country.

‘A core part of the ATN’s mission has been promoting collaboration between universities and industry through our real world approach,’ says Ms Hindmarsh.

‘We know first-hand that collaboration drives innovation, economic development, social change and environmental sustainability for the broader Australian community.’

Ms Hindmarsh commends the Federal Government on prioritising improvement of the declining numbers of students studying science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) subjects.

‘Continued investment in STEM education is essential to furthering Australia’s position as a global leader in innovation.’

The ATN welcomes the Government’s vision for an Australian society engaged in and enriched by science.

The ATN is a consortium of five major Australian universities; Queensland University of Technology (QUT) in Brisbane, University of Technology Sydney (UTS) in Sydney, RMIT University in Melbourne, University of South Australia (UniSA) in Adelaide and Curtin University in Perth.