7 August 2023

7 AUGUST 2023

The Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) Vice-Chancellors are pleased to announce that Luke Sheehy has been reappointed as Executive Director, for a further five-year term.

ATN Universities Chair, Professor Harlene Hayne CNZM, said Luke’s superior leadership skills and strategic, collegiate approach within the sector and governments from both sides of politics has delivered significant outcomes for member universities since 2019.

“Luke has led with great authority and skill during the most challenging period in recent memory, helping to negotiate our group through the demands of the global pandemic,” Professor Hayne said. “He has been instrumental in ATN’s leading role in the Universities Accord process and has a critically important, ongoing role in the Ministerial Reference Group. Under his stewardship members have greatly benefited from the timely and excellent policy advice provided and the impact of ATN’s advocacy has been elevated.”

Key areas of focus for the next term will include:

  • Delivery of a five-year strategy
  • Further strengthening of ATN’s membership
  • Shoring up national and global positions; and,
  • Maintain bipartisan engagements.
    Planning has already begun for events later this year and into 2024 to commemorate ATN Universities’ 25th anniversary.

Media Contact (not for publication)
Frank Coletta (Manager, Media and Communication) m: 0468 987 295 e: